ipsy Glambag March 2013 Review

IMG_0868

 

This month’s ipsy Glambag had me very excited with their theme of “the Great Escape”. The bag was super cute (I love anchors and basically all things nautical), and even the little card made me smile with the waves and sailboat and dolphin, all things I obviously LOVE.

IMG_0869 IMG_0871

BUT THEN… I turn over the card to find that I was only getting 4 different products this month, which kinda stinks because some of the other boxes I’ve been getting lately have been very generous with 5 and 6 different products. I already don’t like the cards that come with the ipsy bags because they never explain what the product is, it’s uses, prices, etc. They just give the brand and the discount they will offer for being an ipsy subscriber (which most other subscription services also do too).

      IMG_0872

I opened the bag to see what was inside….

IMG_0870

and before I even start to list the goodies inside, I can just say that I was very disappointed with this bag. Nothing was too fun or exciting and it was kind of confusing opening it, because I thought half of one of the products was missing and the cheap looking packaging of the shadows just turn me off. Anywho, HERE ARE THE GOODIES:

Item #1: Glam RX
Mini Freestyle Pallet, price unknown

IMG_0873 IMG_0875

This is the item that I first opened and right away got angry. I thought that something was missing on the inside. I had to go online and check out their website, only to find out that the normal pallet that retails for $16.50 actually comes with stuff inside. This is just a magnet that will hold 2 of the eye shadows that we also got in the bag, and obviously any other little colors with the metal backing. I don’t think I will honestly use this at all. I’m very disappointed in the product to say the least. *Side-note: As I was opening this, Michael said “well I’m sure the colors that go in there are probably in the bag too” and I said “well that’s stupid, I just think they jipped me and gave me a bad/missing one”…. come to find out, he was right. haha the following are the shadows that can start this pallet….

Item #2: yaby
Eyeshadow Refill, 3 grams, $3.15/each

IMG_0879 IMG_0878

As shown, I received 2 shades, #es296 “So Vein”, and #es442 “Sand Dune”. I guess I’m happy that they are both very usable colors, easy for blending and such, but the packaging is so ugly. I know they are just refills and not sopposed to be fancy because you stick them right in your magnetic pallet, but still. It just looks so cheap. I put them in the pallet because I don’t know what else to do with them, but again, this item is just blah and I’m not too happy about it.

Item #3: La Fresh
Travel Lite Makeup Remover, 8 wipes, $1.99

IMG_0876

Ok, so I’m actually happy about this item. I love travel items that are easy for on the go, and these are much easier to remember to throw in your purse than lugging around and always misplacing the normal remover I usually use. I haven’t tried them yet, but they smell like regular baby wipes, so I don’t have a problem with that, although it might feel weird to have wipe-smell all over my face. The usual makeup remover I use from Avon is a lotion that has no scent, and I love that, have been using it for years. Over all, this product wasn’t too bad. Nothing super exciting, but still better than the first two items!

Item #4: Juice Beauty
Hydrating Mist, 1 oz. (Full size, 6.75 oz, $22.00)

IMG_0880

Although I have heard about this product from a friend, I had never used a “hydrating mist” before. I tried it out though, and I didn’t mind the smell, it felt weird to just spray something directly on my face like that though. It says that it “tones & refreshens”, so maybe this would be a great product for when I’m traveling and basically just on the go for a long period of time. I like this brand a lot so I was happy with this product (finally).

All in all, this bag was obviously not my favorite. ipsy Glam Bag is $10/month, and I’m not sure if I even got my money’s worth on this bag, which is a big downer. I’m not thinking about canceling because I have loved the bags in the past, so hopefully next month they step it up and send out a much better bag! :] High hopes!

all love & smiles :]

mary elyse

One thought on “ipsy Glambag March 2013 Review

  1. Pingback: Ipsy Glambag May 2013 Review | Confessions of my Obsessions

Leave a Reply

