Popsugar Must Have Box – April 2013 Review

I WAS ECSTATIC TO RECEIVE MY FIRST POPSUGAR MUSTHAVE BOX IN THE MAIL TODAY!

IMG_1401
I have been reading review after review about all the previous months, and loved every single one! It seems to me that a lot of people get pretty upset about this box when it’s not all to their liking, and I do understand that on some point because the price is a bit high for a monthly subscription box (it’s $35/month). HOWEVER, all the items that people tend to complain about… I usually like! Maybe I’m just a super positive person (at least when it comes to gifts and fun items and surprises), but I honestly liked every single box in the past that I have read reviews about….

IMG_1402
Then, I received my first box, the April MustHave box. My first reaction was, “wow, this box feels SUPER light, are there even any products in there??”. I opened to find that there are only 5 products, so that was just a tad disappointing to me because it seems like many of the other months received up to 8 products. After looking through all my products though, I found that I was very happy with the box and love just about everything included!! :]

Anyway, since this is my first box, it’s obviously my first review on this subscription service, so I thought I’d just give a little rundown of the box itself!
• $35/month
• Hand selected items in beauty, fashion, home, fitness, & food
• Full size products and premium items, each box worth at least $100
• If you would like to join, or even just try out a month or 2, you can use my referral link here

The first look of all the products!

IMG_1403

NOW LET’S GET TO THE GOODIES!!!!!! :]

Must Have Food 
Item #1 • Alter Eco 
Dark Quinoa Organic Chocolate, $3.99 
I’m kind of scared to try this…. a) dark chocolate just isn’t my thing, b) “nutty toasted quinoa” is not exactly what I envision in my chocolate snacks, and c) I’m annoyed I always get dark chocolate “healthy” treats, just gimme some fatty milk/white chocolate with marshmallows and nuget and carmel please. ASIDE FROM ALL THAT, the packaging and brand are great. I actually want to eat/try it only because that kinda stuff is just so appealing to me. I am an advertiser’s dream audience :] Check out their website here.

IMG_1404

Must Have Beauty 
Item #2 • kai 
Perfume Oil, $48.00 
O.M.G. I am IN LOVE with this perfume!! It smells sooo luscious and radiant and fabulous! I wish it was a spray, rather than an oil, so I could spray down my bed and clothes and sweatshirts so I could just be in lovely smelling heaven all day… Ok, I know that was a little much, kinda creepy, but I honestly think it smells amazing! I read a lot of reviews of people saying it smelled too floral or too strong, blah blah blah, but it says on the label that it smells different on everyone, so my natural body scents and oils must be made for this perfume oil! I love it!!!!!! Check it out here.

IMG_1405 IMG_1406

Must Have Fashion 
Item #3 • The Green Garmento 
4-in-1 Reusable Dry-Cleaning Bag, $9.99 
Ok, sooo I know a lot of people were complaining about this product because they don’t dry clean their clothes (well then how do you wash them correctly…?) and they just thought it was unappealing to get a garment bag in this box. I THINK IT’S FANTASTIC!!! For a couple reasons, the first being that this was featured on Shark Tank!!! I freakin LOVE that show and love all the inventors and entrepreneurs putting themselves out there and trying their hardest to sell their products! So inspirational. Second reason I think this is awesome is because it seriously is 4 in one! I’m already using it to do my laundry today, and it’s so perfect for dropping/picking up your clothes from the cleaners. It’s eco-friendly and fantastic :] Check out their website here.

IMG_1412 IMG_1413

Must Have Fashion 
Item #4 • Shashi 
New Nugget Bracelet, Grey, $28.00 
I adore this bracelet! It’s so simple and pretty and definitely something I would buy (although not for $28 bucks, but I never buy jewelry over $10, I’m cheap like that)! They make them in several different colors, but Popsugar was sending them out in turquoise, cobalt, and grey, and I am SO HAPPY that I got the grey, and not just because it’s my second favorite color (behind blue of course!), but because this way it seems more versatile and will go with more colors/outfits. I love this bracelet :] Check out all the other colors here.

IMG_1407 IMG_1409

Must Have Beauty 
Item #5 • Tatcha 
Petal Fresh Evening Aburatorigami Beauty Papers, $15.00 
Ok so I bought a pack or 2 of these kinds of papers before back in the day, but I got e.l.f. brand ones that costed like .50 cents or something. $15? Nothing I would pay for, but I guess it’s because I still don’t really understand how/why they’re useful. I would THINK I would need them since it’s getting warmer outside, but my face honestly never really gets oily. Sweat, yes, certainly, I sweat a gross amount for a girl. So if they made papers that turned my super red hot cheeks normal and made my sweat go away while keeping my makeup fresh… well then THOSE would be papers I would pay $15 bucks for. Maybe these papers will come in handy one day though, so I will keep them in my travel makeup bag :] Check them out here.

IMG_1410 IMG_1411

The grand total: $104.98
They promise the box to be worth at least $100, so they were really cutting it close this month. Kinda stinks that my first box with them had to be one with a lower than usual value and lower than usual item count, but all in all, I really enjoyed it and I am eager to see what they will come up with for the May box!

IMG_1414

{Photography note: Obviously I don’t know what I’m doing taking pictures, I just enjoy doing it, sooooo don’t mind the random background with my porch, kitty bowls, and Aria’s little alligator toy hahah}

all love & smiles :]

mary elyse

Leave a Reply

