Allure Beauty Box Summer Essentials 2013 Review

allure

I was SO EXCITED to receive my Summer Beauty Box by Allure today! I didn’t look at the list of the items included previously because I wanted it to be a surprise… and it sure was! I am seriously so excited about each and every full sized item… I only got one duplicate (a double nail color) but it can easily be gifted because it’s a beautiful shade! This was probably my favorite box I’ve ever opened and I’m so mad that I waited until just now to learn about it… I will for sure be getting the next box when it comes out in the Winter!

IMG_1717

This box costed $4o and is full of 26 full sized beauty products! After adding up all the products included, I came to a grand total of $291.25! And I love each and every item! So it’s basically like I walked into a store like Ulta, filled up shopping bag after shopping bag of amazing goodies, and then instead of paying my total of $291, I just hand over two 20 dollar bills and stroll out of the store. $40 for 26 fun beauty products that I’m already obsessed with……..?? So worth it!

IMG_1765

The box was 12 whole pounds and when I opened, everything was wrapped in packing popcorn and bubble wrap, with a nice little booklet included that explains each product and gives a nice description. I will be including those descriptions from the Allure booklet in this review because since there are just SO MANY items, I think it would be easier to explain word for word with just a short review comment.

IMG_1763

Now onto all the amazing wonderful full sized goodies I just got for only FORTY FREAKIN DOLLARS!

#1 • BCBG Maxazria – Bon Chic perfume (1.7 oz/ $55.00)
“In an exquisitely orchestrated suite of refined scents with bold accents, BCBGMAXAZRIA Bon Chic celebrates style and joie de vivre.” 
This smells fabulous! And I love the design of the bottle… very unique and girly. Check out this product here. 

IMG_1718

#2 • Burt’s Bees – Lip Gloss ($8.99)
“Vibrant, pearlized color combines with natural oils rich in nutrients to leave your lips soft, shiny, and 100% naturally beautiful.”  
Perfect color and shine, not sticky. #239: Spring Splendor. Check out this product here.

IMG_1750

#3 • Butter London – Nail Lacquer in Marbs ($15.00)
“On your nails, this shade is absolutely brilliant.” 
This is my first Butter London polish and I am in love! It is suuuuch an amazing gold, I don’t have anything else like it! Check them out here.

5

#4 • Cetaphil – Daily Facial Cleanser ($11.99)
“This gentle cleanser effectively removes surface oils, dirt, and makeup without overdrying or irritating sensitive skin.” 
Happy to start using this. Smells nice and clean and I already tested it on a my makeup and it wipes it right off! Check out the product here.

IMG_1723

#5 + #6 • Clear Scalp & Hair Beauty Therapy – Total Care Nourishing Shampoo + Conditioner ($5.95 each)
“This nutrient-rich shampoo and conditioner give women stronger, more beautiful hair in 7 days, guaranteed.” 
This smells super yummy and I was going to need some new product soon, so this came at a perfect time for me. Hopefully it helps my dry dying brittle hair! haha! Check out the products here.

IMG_1747

#7 • Dickinson’s – Original Witch Hazel Oil Controlling Towelettes ($7.99)
“The first ever individually wrapped towelette with gentle, original witch hazel for cleaning and conditioning on to the go.” 
Great to have for the hot summer months! Check out the product here.

IMG_1735

#8 • Global Keratin – Leave In Conditioner Spray ($22.00)
“Fortified with Juvexin, GK Leave-In Spray protects hair while moisturizing and repairing split ends, leaving a soft, smooth finish.” 
I am SO EXCITED to receive this product! My hair is super nasty sometimes because of all the damage I’ve done to it through the years, and products like these are a life-saver for me! This will for sure good to good use! 

IMG_1727

#9 • Neutrogena – MicroMist Sunless Tanning Spray ($9.99)
“Applies like a professional airbrush spray for an even, worry-free, ‘just back from the beach tan’- random streaks, missed spots, and orange palms are all things of the past.” 
As a recovering “tanorexic”, I haven’t been in a tanning bed for months and months (longer than I have ever been before) and products like this are now a must for me! Hopefully this delivers the results it promises. I am very pumped to try it out. Check out the product here.

IMG_1745

#10 • Neutrogena – Oil Free Moisture SPF 15 ($9.99)
“Delivers pure, clean hydration for healthy, moisturized skin. It’s 100% free of alcohol, fragrance, dyes, and oils that can build up and clog pores.”
My face longs for a simple cream like this in the mornings, especially when I’ve had a really late night and I’m super dehydrated! Check out the product here.

4

#11 • Neutrogena – Revitalizing Lip Balm SPF 20 ($6.99)
“Sheer tinted lip balm for softer, rosier, and healthier-looking lips- even after you take it off!” 
This is a perfect lip balm, with a great amount of color and moisture! I got color #20: Healthy Blush. Check out the product here.

IMG_1741

#12 • Neutrogena – Ultra Gentle Daily Cleanser ($8.99)
“Mild enough for the most sensitive skin but effective enough to gently remove 99% of dirt, oil, and makeup-without stripping skin’s natural moisture and softness.” 
This is a great, clean, fresh wash perfect for removing my makeup or sweat after a workout. Check out the product here.

IMG_1719

#13 • Nexxus – Youth Renewal Rejuvenating  Elixir ($17.69)
“This lightweight leave in treatment helps rebuild hair’s strength while making it look more youthful, vibrant, and radiant in just seven days.” 
My hair longs for products just like this! Very excited this was included in the box! Check out the product here.

2

#14 • Not Your Mother’s – Beach Babe Texturizing Hair Cream ($5.99)
“Gives you sexy, tousled waves with a matte finish for a real surfer-girl look!” 
I LOVEEEE the brand NYM! I use so many of their products and recommend them to everyone. All the products are $5.99 or less (that I’ve ever seen), and they work even better than many of the pricey brands that I have used in the past. I’ve never tried this cream before but I love the beachy waves look so I am very excited to give it a try! Check out the product here.

IMG_1722

#15 • Pixi – Endlesss Silky Eye Pen ($15.00)
“Long-wearing and waterproof, the Endless Silky Eye Pen gives the intense effect of liquid liner and is much easier to apply.”  fffd
This is sooo soft and smooth! I can’t wait to use it for a night out! The color is soooo bright and wonderful! I got mine in “True Teal” and it is just such a perfect color for me! Check out the product here. 

7

#16 • Pureology – Colour Stylist Supreme Control Maximum Hold Zero Dulling Hairspray ($26.00)
“This zero-dulling hairspray cares for colour-treated hair while you style and finishes any look with maximum hold and extra shine.” 
I was in need of a new hair spray, so I am so glad I got a new super nice one!!! Check out this product here.

IMG_1742

#17 • Redken – Control Addict 28 High-Control Hairspray ($20.00)
“Your must-have hairspray. Redken’s highest hold hairspray will keep your style for 24 hours! No visible flaking. Fast drying. Easily brushable without feeling stiff.” 
If it truly does all those thing it promises, this might really become my new favorite hairspray! Check out the product here.

IMG_1754

#18 • Redken – Extreme Anti-Snap Leave In Treatment ($18.19)
“Redken’s #1 selling treatment is formulated with protein to fortify the cuticle, reduce breakage, and minimize split ends. It also provides heat protection!” 
This is exactly what my hair needs! Check out the product here.

IMG_1724

#19 • Sally Hansen – Complete Salon Manicure in Get Juiced ($6.98)
“New! Get 7 salon benefits in one bottle, including base coat, strengthener, growth treatment, color, topcoat, and new chip-resistant formula with gel-shine finish. Choose from 49 on-trend shades!” 
I LOVEEEE me some nail polish and have always been curious about these little 7 in one bottles. I am super happy to try it out and the color I got it in is AMAZING!!! Check out the product here.

6

#20 • Sally Hansen – Salon Manicure Dry & Go Drops ($7.33)
“Sally Hansen’s amazing formula dries any nail polish in 60 seconds! With just a few drops, this fast polish dryer gives your manicure that glossy boost without the wait.” 
Perfect to go along with my gorgeous new nail polish! Check out this product here.

3

#21 • Sally Hansen – Zero Bumps Bikini Spray ($7.99)
“Show off your skin! Zero Bumps helps keep skin smooth and soft between shaving and waxing by reducing bumps, irritation, and in-grown hairs. Go ahead- spray away and show off!” 
Cannot wait to try out this product! Perfect for summer! Check out this product here.

IMG_1737

#22 • Miss Professional Sation Nail Laquer – Love At First Byte ($5.00)
“Miss Professional Nail is a contemporary beauty company, infusing a creative direction in nail care through a blend of lifestyle aesthetics. Miss’ signature nail lacquer, Sation, features 120 colors from its seasonal and limited collections.”  
This is the only product in the box that was a duplicate. Bummer. Oh well! Check out this product here.

8

#23 • Simple – Kind to Eyes, Eye Make-Up Remover Pads ($5.69)
“A perfect blend of gentle cleansers and added vitamins, these pads effectively remove makeup-even waterproof mascara. Won’t sting or irritate your eyes and are perfect even for sensitive skin.” 
I LOVE travel makeup remover pads like these. And of course, even more perfect for sweaty, beach filled summer time! Check out this product here.

IMG_1751

#24 • Suave Professionals – Moroccan Infusion Styling Oil ($7.19)
“This ultra- light formula instantly conditions without weighing hair down, while smoothing the cuticle for long-lasting, silky shine.” 
This will be perfect for my hair! Check out this product here.

1

#25 • Tantowel – The Original Self-Tanning Towelette for Face & Body ($24.00)
“Each towelette is infused with a unique clear-liquid formula for a natural sunless tan.” 
Again, I LOVE tanning products, so this was definitely a plus for me! Can’t wait to try these out, plus it’s a box of 5! Check out this product here.

IMG_1721

#26 • Tresemmè – Platinum Strength Strengthening Heat Protect Spray ($5.29)
“This protective spray guards hair against the damaging effects of heat styling, including breakage, dryness, and frizz.” 
Again, right up my alley. Love hair products like this directed for damaged hair like mine. Check out this product here.

IMG_1736

So all in all, I LOVED MY ALLURE SUMMER BEAUTY BOX! I can’t stress enough how amazing it was to get all these full sized products for such a tiny price… and because they are ALL products that we can use here at home! I am soooo happy that I got it! Can’t wait for the Winter one already! :]

IMG_1760

all love & smiles :]

mary elyse

2 thoughts on “Allure Beauty Box Summer Essentials 2013 Review

  1. Pingback: Allure Winter Beauty Box 2013 Review | Confessions of my Obsessions

Leave a Reply

