Birchbox May 2013 Review

IMG_1964

This month’s Birchbox wasn’t my favorite, but only because I liked the items, but it was definitely not worth my $10. Instead of beauty products, this month I got 3 random products ranging from tooth paste to a Pilot pen! I’m not complaining about that because I do love random lifestyle products, but it’s kind of unfair for the value of the box this month.

IMG_1965

Birchbox is a monthly beauty subscription service that costs $10/month. They send out 4-6 deluxe sized beauty & lifestyle samples each month. Each month usually has a theme, and they include a card explaining the theme and also listing the products and pricing.

IMG_1966

May’s theme is “Beauty Diaries”.

IMG_1967

Now let’s get to the {random} goodies inside!!

1 • Amika
Obliphica Nourishing Mask, 0.67 oz {Full size: $40.00} 
I sampled some Amika shampoo & conditioner before and absolutely loved it, so I’m sure this nourishing mask will be great! I love getting hair products for my damaged hair. Always put to great use!! Check out the product here.

IMG_1970

2 • COOLA 
Classic Face SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer for Face, .23 oz {Full size: $32.00} 
I WOULD have liked this product if it wasn’t soooo tiny. Maybe if this little tube was actually FILLED it would have been okay, but theres barely anything inside of it. It’s enough for maybe one use on the face. Tiny. Plus, it’s sunscreen. That’s not really something I get too excited about, especially compared to cool beauty products I could have gotten. Check out the product here.

IMG_1968

3 • Isaac Mizrahi 
FABULOUS Isaac Mizrahi Eau de Parfum, .05 oz {Full size: $69.00} 
This smells SOOOOOO GOOD. I used to hate perfume samples because they were so tiny and I didn’t appreciate them enough compared to the other beauty products… but I’m starting to love them now! I love that they ARE tiny and I can carry them around in my purse for night’s out or heading out for an interview… very convenient and I love trying out all the new fun scents that I wouldn’t normally purchase! This scent is so light and cheery, completely perfect for summertime! Check out the perfume here.

IMG_1973

4 • Marvis
Classic Mint Toothpaste, .5 oz {Full size: $10.50} 
I don’t know what to really say about this… I mean, it’s toothpaste. Something I use everyday, so of course it won’t go wasted. I do love the packaging and how it looks like something from an old antique store or something. Super cute. Check out the product here.

IMG_1971

5 • Sumita 
Color Contrast Eyeliner, .7 g {Full size: $11.00} 
This is a small sample of an eyeliner (I guess I’m just used to more full sized eye liner items). It doesn’t have a color name/number but I clearly got a Black pencil. This is perfect for me because I wear black eyeliner almost everyday and can never have enough! It’s very smooth and easy to apply. Check out the product here.

IMG_1974

6 • BIRCHBOX FINDS: Acroball by Pilot Pen (Pink) 
Full size! $6.24/ pack of 4 
I thought it was kind of weird to get a pen inside of my Birchbox… but I am an office supply LOVER so this was super awesome for me! It’s super smooth and writes pink! Love it! Check it out here.

IMG_1975

This was quite a confusing Birchbox as many of the items weren’t exactly beauty related, however I did it enjoy it and I’m pretty sure all the items will go to great use!

IMG_1978

I can only hope that Birchbox will start getting better, the way they used to be… the past couple of months just haven’t been too great!

IMG_1979

all love & smiles :]

mary elyse

Leave a Reply

