Popsugar Must Have Box – May 2013

IMG_1980

 

I was so pumped to find my second ever Popsugar Must Have Box waiting on my doorstep the other day! Although the items are random and from many reviews I have read almost a hit or miss, I honestly loved all the boxes I read about it and am eager every month to find out what they will send out to us next!

IMG_1981

These monthly subscription boxes are full of hand-selected items in beauty, fashion, home, fitness, and food. The cost is $35/month, and is well worth the money because the boxes are usually worth well over $100 in products. They always include a little booklet explaining all the items inside.

IMG_1995

Let’s get to May’s must have goodies!!!

1 • Kooringal Giselle Mid Brim Hat 
{Retail Value: $27.99} 
At first I laughed out loud at this hat because I was confused by it’s shape (I didn’t realize that it was super bendable and able to be packed tightly into bags) and I also am just not normally a hat person, especially a huge beach hate like this one. However, after reading good reviews and taking to heart all the benefits this hat has against harmful sun exposure, I was kind of excited about it. I live near the beach now too, so this can now go to good use! :] Check out the hat here.

IMG_1987

2 • The Modern Margarita 
{Retail Value: $8.00} 
Mmmmmm I was so excited to see these in the box! I love margaritas and there are some delicious flavors included in this simple kit… and they even give you salt to brim the glasses with! It’s perfect! I also LOVE the packaging, so bright and an excellent design. These will go to great use this summer. Check out their website here.

IMG_1989

3 • Questions I Ask When I Want To Talk About Myself Deck 
{Retail Value: $14.95}
“50 Topics to Share with Friends.” This is based off of her book (which I have but still have yet to read), and they are basically cards to start topics up around, say, a group of ladies having a fabulous wine night. I love Mindy Kaling and think she’s hilarious, so hopefully some of these cards will be funny… otherwise, I’m not the biggest fan of this item in the box. Check out the product here.

IMG_1988

4 • The Original BeautyBlender & BlenderCleanser 
{Retail Value: $23.95} 
I was SO PUMPED to get this!!! Whenever I see these in the store I contemplate buying one but can never get myself to pay so much money for a sponge. This is the reason why I love subscription boxes!! They send you things that you couldn’t/wouldn’t normally buy in stores! I’m almost too scared to use it and get it all full of make-up, but after watching the videos about the product it seems fairly simple to clean. This was probably one of my favorite items featured in this month’s box!! Check out this amazing product here.

IMG_1994

5 • Pacifica Natural Color Quench Lip Tint 
{Retail Value: $9.00} 
This lip tint smells SOOOOO yummy! I got the color Guava Berry, and it’s a very sheer tint, not too overwhelming, so perfect for me! An awesome lip product I’m excited about! Check out the product here.

pacifica lip

6 • Charm & Chain $30 Gift Card 
Charm & Chain is a great online jewelry store that features over 50 different luxury to every day jewelry designers. A lot of their jewelry is REALLYYYY out of my price range, but they have super cute pieces starting at $33. Since they gave us a $30 credit towards the store, I’m excited to pick out a piece and basically only pay the shipping charges! Check out their website here.

IMG_1993

7 • Way Better Snacks – Simply Sweet Potato Tortilla Chips 
{Retail Value: $3.49/ 5.5 oz bag} 
I can never complain about getting snacks in one of my boxes. Especially when they are chips. These are unique and delicious and not as bad for you as many of the other brands. My only complaint is that the bag was too tiny! Check out the chips here.

IMG_1985

8 • Popsugar Bag 
We also got this bag as a little added bonus! I seem to always be lugging random crap around me with everywhere, so bags like this certainly get some good use!

IMG_1983

So although I really enjoyed this box, the value came in VERY LOW this month. The added retail value of all the products is only about $85.39. If I count the $30 gift card that brings the value to $115.39, but that’s still very low for this box, and I don’t think adding the $30 is really fair because you’re going to have to pay more on the website because the products are all over $30 to begin with.

IMG_1998

Although the value was low, I’m super excited about my new BeautyBlender and fun margarita mixes, not to mention my new beach hat :]

IMG_2001

all love & smiles :]

mary elyse

Leave a Reply

