When I Grow Up I Wanna Be…?

ehhhhhh.
I feel like I’ve never had a real definite answer to this question.
Lately, I also feel like you have to know what you DON’T want in a job to know what you really DO want to do.

sears_tower_chicago

Right now, I work in the Sears “Willis” Tower, working for… Willis, actually. I just have to put up with the corporate world before I can figure out exactly what it is that  I think I would actually enjoy and be best at. After I quit my last job at the logistics company, I said I wouldn’t do another big, corporate company again with all their rules and regulations and just basic outdatedness. However, Willis was different because they were offering me a good job with the perfect pay and a great way to hopefully start a career in a booming company. While I’m at work though, I can’t help but long to think about something bigger and more out of the ordinary, like working with amazing and beautiful animals.

odd_cute_animals_london_zoo_1

Best-Mother-Animal-Cheetah-631

elephant-640x360

Working with them or at least FOR animals would make me feel like I have a real purpose and does something that matters, helping and protecting animals for a living, not just doing any ol’ thing to make money. I just seem to be getting that feeling a lot lately… I started to get that feeling a lot when I worked both for the doctor’s practice (where I worked for over 6 years) and good ol’ Hollister, being a retail associate, oops, I mean “model”, because that’s what they apparently like to call us to make us all feel special or something…. hmmmm yeah, not sure about that, should have been my first sign that working retail there was not going to be my favorite thing in the world.

hollister-2013

 

It sucked going from working with patients and seeing actual people smile when you smile at them, or just make someone who is down/sick to laugh… to then go to being scolded for not folding a tiny pile of XXS-S sized shirts just perfectly enough… it would irritate me soooo bad. Everything I was told there I would just get super annoyed by it, and of course eventually I just had to move back to Iowa for school and I just never tried to transfer stores or anything like that… whooops. Bye HCo dudes.

Links-of-London-Logo

 

Aside from my Mon-Fri job, I work retail on the weekends at Links of London, a fine jeweler with some of the cutest jewelry I have ever seen. It is so crazy that a couple of months ago I was so sad and upset about not having a job or income, and now I have 2 of them… timing is everything I guess. I just need to find what I REALLY REALLY will enjoy doing so I can start be excited to go to work again (yes, there really were many periods of time I would be excited to go to work).

Here’s to finding out what you really want!!!!!!!!!

also, this post was supposed to be from yesterday the 5th, whoops,

all love & smiles,

Sig3

Leave a Reply

